It’s Got Me Shaking in My Boots

Standard

polka_dot_rainboots_by_kspatula

As I mentioned before, I’ve been working on some Bible study lessons for an upcoming women’s study called Interruptions of the Heart (Jesus’ interactions with women). I forgot to mention that not only did I write part of the study, but I will be presenting a lesson for each of my 3 women. Can I just tell you how I feel about this?

EEEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeEEEEEEEEEEEKKKKKKKkkkk!

While I am definitely excited, I’m also decidedly nervous. I have been known to hold my own at a microphone, but I can get a wild hair, making my talks take a turn for the awkward. I would not exactly describe myself as poised. I get off topic too easily and then get flustered, leaving no escape for myself other than to ramble on and on until I can wrap it up in a crinkly bow.

Top that off with the fact that I can’t tell a story to save my life, and you’re in for a real interesting ride! I have this (annoying) habit of needing to tell every detail in the story, leaving my listeners tilting their heads with furrowed brows wondering when I’m going to get to my point. Charming, I’m sure. (My sister tells me it’s endearing, but I personally think it’s because she does it too! hehe)

Obviously I’ve been thinking about these quirky weaknesses of mine as I’ve been writing out my lessons, and this makes me even more nervous. What is more, I’ve learned enough about teaching God’s word to know that one must never take this task lightly. And this makes me tremble in my cute polka dot rain boots way more than the thought of displaying my awkwardness before these ladies.

However, at the end of the day, I find great consolation in the fact that none of this is about me anyway. I get it that God has given me certain gifts that will be used to edify His Church. But this little stone does not get the spotlight. No, it’s always Him. He’s the One who gives the gifts. He’s the One who picks up each little stone and sets her in her place to do the thing He’s designed her to do.

So off I go to teach the Word, praying earnestly for wisdom to know how to do it. And thank God that His Word can get inside of these ladies despite my peculiarities. They must know that every word has been carefully scrutinized, every thought initially well-formed, and every intention well meaning.

I’m so thankful that His Word is alive and active. So even if my thoughts become jumbled or my words lose their way, His Word does not return void (Isaiah 55:11)! He accomplishes what He purposes.

Lord, I may be shaking, but I’m steadfast in spirit. Teach me Your Word that I may know You. Help me to teach Your Word so that they may know You.  

Leave a Reply

