My Sweet Tooth

Standard

A kid in a candy store

 

I’ve been working on a collaborative Bible study for our women’s ministry this fall, and I can’t get over my excitement about it! Even though it has consumed MY ENTIRE SUMMERI keep going back to the three lessons I’ve written to soak it all in. You see, this Bible study is about Jesus’ interactions with women. We’re calling it Interruptions of the Heart.

It’s really true that you never learn as much from a study until you are the one who has to teach the study. I have done hours of research, scanning through articles and through books, reading as many writings as I can get my hands on. I actually prefer to approach my own personal study times in this way which is why it takes me a very loooong time to get through a passage.

I don’t know how you feel about studying God’s word, but for me, it’s like I’m a kid in a candy store! I’ll have 50 of those Psalms and 4 of those Gospels. I really like these spicy prophets. Oh and can I get a Hebrews to go? Better yet, I’ll just buy out the whole store. His word is rich and sweet and satisfies those cravings of my heart.

This is how I feel about reading the Bible. This is me discovering God.

This is how I feel about reading the Bible. This is me discovering God.

But honestly there are days when I’m in His word and nothing exciting happens. No wow factor. I’ve come to terms with those kind of days and see them as me brushing all that sugar off my teeth. It’s a necessary part of my life to be in His word because even if the moments aren’t always fireworks and eye-opening breakthroughs, His word is getting in me. The seed gets planted, it gets watered, and it grows.

I can say I’ve had a “successful” personal study time if for no other reason than the fact that I’ve spent time with my Father.

Perhaps for you, it’s a struggle to get in the word on a daily basis. I get that too. I have 3 boys under the age of 6. Quiet times are rare. This is another thing I’m coming to terms with. There are seasons in life in which personal study comes easily and often. Other seasons feel like hard work or like you’re in the trenches fighting for even a few minutes of Psalms or Hosea or John.

I say keep fighting, sister! It’s how we get in shape and learn the discipline of perseverance in trying times.

You’ve also got to know that God desires to spend this time with you and will give you the desire to seek Him. He delights in you and loves the look you get in your eyes when you find the treasures He intentionally placed in His word for your taking.

So dig in. Mine the diamonds and the gold. Eat the sweets.

Then watch as you go about your day for moments when the Spirit whispers, You remember when I showed you _____… This is how it looks for you in this moment. Walk in it. 

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth. 3 John 4

The Apostle John said this about the Church. Imagine how God feels about you and His Church, His Bride.

Dust off that Bible and enjoy!

{Also stay tuned for my posts relating to the Bible study coming in September! The widow of Nain, Mary of Bethany, and Mary Magdalene.}

One response »

  1. Pingback: It’s Got Me Shaking in My Boots | Heart Soil

Leave a Reply

