You are Loved

Standard

I stood there weeping as the song “How He Loves” by David Crowder played. I am pregnant, so I guess it’s okay to ball like a baby during a worship song at the church. Or maybe it was something else that day…

We had a very long weekend because my husband, Eric, was off on Friday and then we had a wedding to attend on Saturday (more than 250 miles away I might add). I was in an unusually poor mood all weekend which I suppose comes with the territory of having a melancholy personality (joy). So as I walked into this church we’ve been trying out for the last 3 weeks, I was ready for a thorough heart washing. After being in such a funk, I typically beat myself up and expect God also to be hard on me for some reason. Chastisement. Correction. All a part of the Sanctification process, right?

It’s a funny thing to expect a certain response (anger, chastisement, disappointment) and to get a response completely opposite of what you dreaded. This is what I heard instead:

He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

And oh, how He loves us, oh,
Oh, how He loves us,
How He loves us all

He is jealous for me,
Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of His wind and mercy.
When all of a sudden,
I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realise just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

And oh, how He loves us, oh,
Oh, how He loves us,
How He loves us all

Yeah, He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us,
Oh, how He loves.

And we are His portion and He is our prize,
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes,
If his grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.
And Heaven meets earth like an unforeseen kiss,
And my heart turns violently inside of my chest,
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets,
When I think about the way…

He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us,
Oh, how He loves.
Yeah, He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us,
Oh, how He loves.

Yeah, He loves us,
Oh, how He loves us…
Oh, how He loves us…
Oh, how He loves us.

Sometimes, you just need to be reminded. He loves you so.

And when you least expect to be treated with grace, He pours it out lavishly so that your heart is full of His love and cannot possibly hold a single drop of condemnation. Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes.

He is jealous for me. He is not willing to leave me stuck in my sin, barely keeping afloat in a storm cloud of crazy emotions. Sometimes that jealousy looks like a fierce removal of anything not of Him and sometimes it just looks like love (and maybe sometimes a mixture of both).

I think this is what the woman felt like who was forgiven much. Instead of condemnation, she received forgiveness. She loved much because she’d been forgiven much. (You can find her story at the end of Luke 7.)

How He loves you so. Consider yourself reminded 😉

 

P.S. I’m okay now 🙂 I think…

About ashleydfarmer

I love learning and teaching. I occasionally get ridiculously excited over small things and hopefully have learned to describe them well enough for others to get just as excited as I do (hence this blog). I believe God's word is truth and brings understanding and joy to the one who hears and accepts it. My passion is for Him first, my family second, and the ministry He's given me third (whatever that looks like). I also happen to love tennis :) but I suppose that's for a different blog...

Leave a Reply

