I’m just not that important

Standard

This post will largely be a topic concerning pride and humility so enter at your own risk. [Disclaimer: I do not want anyone posting comments to try to tell me that I’m important, and you’ll see why as you read through the post.]

When was the last time you thought, “You know I’m a pretty big deal. I’m so important, people should be lining up to be my friend. In fact, I am offended when I’m not asked to do important things…”

You’ve probably never thought those things…or have you? Maybe more politely? Not so dripping-with-pride?

I’m guessing there are personalities out there who could care less about being important. Those people like to work behind the scenes and actually not be noticed. But I’m also guessing that even these people want to be important to someone – children, spouse, family, church. They want to feel valued and feel like what they’re doing is important, even if they’re not in the limelight.

Well God blessed me with a personality that likes the limelight but doesn’t know what to do with myself when I’m there. I’m shy but ambitious. What’s up with that? I like to be in control (because I think most times, that’s better for everyone else since my ideas are just sooo great). I like to be congratulated on a job well done. I love the feeling I get in managing people well, directing them here and there in a task, and watching it work out beautifully. I like for people to ask me what I think about “x” or “z”, particularly when it comes to the Bible. Why? Because it makes me feel smart and that people value what I have to say. But if I’m not careful, all of this that I love can be so destructive, and it can become sin.

YIKES! Do you see the red flags of loving the limelight? Of wanting to be important?

I started thinking about this probably 2 years ago. There is such a rush I get when I’m doing what I know God has called me to do, and people sometimes notice. But then I got to thinking about this much more as we began to move away. As much as I loved the ministry I got to do while I was in Oklahoma, those people don’t really need me. I’m just not that important.

Life goes on. Sure, people may miss me, but they’re perfectly fine without me. And why is this? Because I’m not their God. God hasn’t left them. God is present no matter what happens to His people. His work goes on, and His word goes forth just as it always does.

I have to check my motives all the time as I serve. Am I searching for the spotlight that is actually reserved for Him?

For My own sake, for My own sake, I do it, for how should My name be profaned? My glory I will not give to another. Isaiah 48:11

Just take a good look at all the verses in which God speaks of His glory (Is. 42:8, 43:7, 66:18). Jesus even refused to take glory for Himself (Jn. 8:50, 8:54). May we be people who can declare:

Yes, Lord, walking in the way of Your laws, we wait for You; Your name and renown are the desire of our hearts.

Because He’s just that important!

About ashleydfarmer

I love learning and teaching. I occasionally get ridiculously excited over small things and hopefully have learned to describe them well enough for others to get just as excited as I do (hence this blog). I believe God's word is truth and brings understanding and joy to the one who hears and accepts it. My passion is for Him first, my family second, and the ministry He's given me third (whatever that looks like). I also happen to love tennis :) but I suppose that's for a different blog...

Leave a Reply

